RSG Wades Into Oyigbo/Khana Boundary Dispute

  • Fri, 27 Jul 2012 00:47:23 -0600 - Nigerian Tide
  • Viewed 27 Times
  • Decrease Text Size Increase Text Size
  • Rating: by 0 users

Rivers State Deputy Governor, Engr. Tele lkuru, has said the present administration in the state is poised to resolve all outstanding boundary disputes with a view to ensuring peaceful co-existence among communities across the State.

Engr. Ikuru said this yesterday while inaugurating a 16-member Technical Committee on the  Obete/Seme Lueku Boundary Demarcation Exercise in Government House, Port Harcourt.

Engr. Ikuru, who is also the Chairman of the State Boundary Committee, disclosed that issues pertaining to the boundaries between the two communities, Obete in Oyigbo Local Government Area and Seme Lueku in Khana Local Government Area had been existing over time, noting that this informed the setting up of the technical committee.

He charged the committee to determine the boundary between the two communities using all relevant documents, demarcate them with concrete pillars, proffer general advice on issues affecting delineation of boundaries, and submit its report 12 weeks after its inauguration to help bring lasting peace to the areas.

In his acceptance speech, Chairman of the committee, Dr Silas Eneyo, thanked the State Government for appointing them to carry out the task of addressing the boundary issues between the two communities, assuring that they would work in line with the terms of reference given to them, noting that “it is not going to be an easy task”.

Other members of the committee are Surveyor Richard Madume, Mr. Adasingor Miller, Mr. Udoma Ogbugo, Barr. Uzor Ikenga, Barr. Godson Tanarn, representative of Khana Local Government Area, Mr. Nwika Gbaranwi, representative of Oyigbo Local Government Area, Sir Sunday Ojijiagwo, four representatives of each of the two communities, Security Support Team comprising the State Security Service (SSS) and the police, while Mrs. Oriemi Omubo, a staff of the Boundary Commission, will serve as secretary of the committee.

Related Articles:

No Related Content Found

Top News Stories

  • Add Comment

Submit Your Comment
Your Name :

Your E-mail :

Your Comment :

Related Tags :