The Sun man, 22 others nominated for CNN Award

  • Friday, May 16, 2008 - By AZUH AMATUS
  • Viewed 683 Times
  • Decrease Text Size Increase Text Size
  • Rating: by 0 users
Multiple award-winning reporters with The Sun Newspapers, Emmanuel Mayah, has been nominated along side 22 other journalists from across Africa for this year’s edition of the prestigious CNN Multi Choice African Journalist competition.

According to Azubuike Ishiekwene, chair of the independent judging panel, while announcing the finalists, a total of 1912 entries were received from 44 countries throughout the continent, including French and Portuguese speaking African countries.

A break down of the finalists list revealed that Mayah, Deji Badmus, from Channels TV, Godwin Nnanna, from BusinessDay and Lucas Ajanaku, from Tell magazine all made it to the grand finale of the competition.

Others are: Barbara Angopa, Uganda, Seyoum Tsehaye, Eritrea, Nussima Oulebsir, Algeria, Koumour Aoua Issa Napon, Burkina Faso and Fernando Lima, Mozambique.
Two journalists from neighbouring Ghana, Daniel Nkrumah and Israel Laryea also made the keenly contested list.

Coming behind Nigeria on the list with three nominees is South Africa. They are: Majorie Copeland, Peter Moyo and Sasha Wales-Smith.
Two journalists from Tanzania, Mwondoshah Mfonga and Richard Mgamba were also short listed, as well as Boniface Nwangi and Mutwiri Mutuota from Kenya respectively.

Others who made the final list include: Kennedy Gondwe, Zambia, John Grobler, Namibia, Bamuturaki Musinguzi, Uganda, Evaline Ngono, Cameroun and Hopewell Rugoho-China from Zimbabwe.
Meanwhile, the winners of this year’s edition, which is the 13th in the series, would be announced at a gala awards ceremony in the State Banquet Hall, Osu, Accra, Ghana on Saturday, July 19, 2008.
Veteran Nigerian born TV presenter, Soni Irabor is expected to co-host the event with CNN correspondent Zain Verjee on stage.

The CNN African Journalist of the year Award was founded in 1995 by Edward Boateng and the late Mohamed Amin, to recognize and encourage excellence in journalism throughout Africa.

Related Articles:

No Related Content Found

Top News Stories

  • Add Comment

Submit Your Comment
Your Name :

Your E-mail :

Your Comment :